Using Google Calendar as a Vegetable Planner

Last year I was lucky enough to acquire a ten-pole allotment. I had done some flower gardening and vegetable growing previously with my grandmother and mum, but this was my first time ‘going it alone’, so to speak. I ran into a common problem encountered by new allotmenteers: underestimating how much time an allotment can take to care for properly. I resolved to be more organised during my second year to ensure I got seeds sown and seedlings into the ground in a more timely fashion, while allowing enough time to take care of those ever-present weeds.

I make great use of Google Calendar and Todoist in the rest of my life, using Google Calendar to record appointments, holidays, insurance renewal dates and days off, and Todoist for organising daily, weekly, and monthly chores and tasks. I started off using Todoist as a vegetable planner but discovered Google Calendar can import .csv files. I use the Google Calendar widget on my tablet and phone so I have visibility of the upcoming week, and decided this would be a better solution for planning my planting.

As described in the link above, it’s very easy to add tasks and planting dates to a .csv file and import into Google Calendar.

1. I visited the Suttons website and looked at which vegetables could be planted in January, February and March. I added the ones I want to grow to my Excel sheet as below.

excel-sheet

2. I created a Gardening calendar within my Google Calendar. I then selected the down arrow on the right-hand side, under ‘Other calendars’, and then ‘Import calendar’.

other-calendars

3. I located my .csv file and selected which calendar I wanted to add it to.

import-calendar

4. I clicked ‘Import’, and lo and behold, it worked!

example

I have high hopes that this will help me to be more organised in my second year of allotmenting. I plan to buy seeds in three-monthly batches (i.e. I’ll buy my seeds now for January, February and March. In March I’ll buy seeds for April, May and June and so on). This should allow me time to plan and dig beds as needed, and also ensure that I don’t overstock on seeds.

One thought on “Using Google Calendar as a Vegetable Planner

Leave a Reply

